Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DPF and passive regeneration

Hi all.

Although not new to desiel engines I am new to DPFs. I was under the impression that a DPF has two ways of clearing out the soot. Passive and active.

Passive being when the car is driving at a steady speed and over a certain revs.

Active being a forced regen when the soot concentration exceeds 45 percent.

The issue (or my stupidity) is that my car doesn't seem to be passive regenerating.

My drive to work consists of a 37 mile drive with 36 miles of that being motorway. The times that I drive normally mean there isn't much traffic and I'm able to keep to 72 mph in 6th.

I've got a little app (there's always a app) on my phone which connects to a obd reader and although I haven't had much time to investigate the soot levels build when driving and only decrease after a active regen.

Is this correct?

There are no codes or errors popping up.

Personally I would not worry about it - it you are not getting any warning lights I would assume all is good!

Comment

Based on my experiences, I'd say passive regeneration doesn't occur.
      In the past I've had regens begin after an hour cruising at 70-80mph whereas if passive regeneration occurred the DPF should have been cleared by that long fast run.

Comment

Why not fit the small led that most diesel owners fit

Comment

It seems after a little more testing simply slows down the rate of how the percentage goes up if you get what I mean? Ie burning as it drives and not storing it?

I don't feel the need for a light. The mpg gives it away along with the obd reader which tracks when the car is doing a regen.

Comment

Every two weeks religiously,mine does one ,as did previous one