Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Ecoflex 2.0 CDTI 160bhp to chip or not to chip?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ecoflex 2.0 CDTI 160bhp to chip or not to chip?

Personal opinion?

Always declare mods to your insurer. If they then decline to cover you, you can at least shop around.

Nothing worse than having an incident and finding they wont pay out. Could also land you in bother with the police too.

If you are going to tune it, don't skimp on the oil. Whatever you use should be a full synthetic meeting the Dexos 2 specification.

No harm in using a local garage to keep labour costs down. As long as they are reputable, and will use genuine parts.

Again, if you are going to tune it, be wary of budget tyres. Some are ok, but I'd stay away from any names that nobody has heard of.

I have no experience of remapping/chipping etc, having never done it on a car.

I would say a properly tuned remap is probably the best/1st choice. However, if any dealer software updates are installed, the remap may be over-written and would have to be re-installed.

Later tricore ECU's are difficult to do too. Some have gone for add-on tuning boxes for this reason. There's plenty of debate on the forum on this topic.

Plenty of opportunity for other mods like 20" wheels, lowering springs and vx-line/vxr body work.

Spend it wisely!
    Elite ST 2.0i Auto. Power Red With All The Toys

Originally posted by DeaniFLHT View Post
    Personal opinion?

Always declare mods to your insurer. If they then decline to cover you, you can at least shop around.

Nothing worse than having an incident and finding they wont pay out. Could also land you in bother with the police too.

If you are going to tune it, don't skimp on the oil. Whatever you use should be a full synthetic meeting the Dexos 2 specification.

No harm in using a local garage to keep labour costs down. As long as they are reputable, and will use genuine parts.